A Journey to a Dream: The Power of Perseverance

Hey everyone! It sure has been awhile since I’ve been here, I’m so sorry for that! Training has been going well though. I have been getting more intense and I’m training at least 5 days per week now, sometimes six. In addition to getting my glide kip I also just got my flyaway! My beam basics (leaps, jumps, turns) have gotten a lot stronger. I have also been working on side somersaults on a line on the floor and also trying to put walkovers on beam as well. I’ve been having some trouble with my wrist so it tends to hold me back at times. I’m finally vaulting well and doing yurchenko timers up onto a resi pit! I hate going forwards so I’m ready to get into that backward motion! 😉 I’ve been tumbling more and working on gaining technique back in my twisting. Overall, things are going pretty well and I finally feel like I’m progressing a bit on bars. All I know is that I wake up every day and give it my all until I can’t go anymore. I never feel like I’ve let myself down when I push myself hard. It gets difficult at times in the gym. This summer has been one of the hottest and with no AC in there, it can be brutal when the humidity is up. Its easy to get fatigued quick but I do my best to fight through.

Aside from training, I just wanted to talk a bit about perseverance. Being (now) 25 years old and only doing gymnastics for about 9 months, I hear it all. Some people believe in me and support my dreams, while others are discouraging. I have sought out several gyms around me for some more focused training, even something as simple as a long four event session once per month just so that I can get more focused coaching and maybe a different point of view. You see, at my gym now, the coach who helps me also coaches the competitive cheer teams and I am mostly on the back burner. I spend a lot of hours teaching myself and learning drills, skills and conditioning from YouTube videos from various coaches. I just want real coaching, I feel like if I had that then I could progress further and really learn how to do things and take my training to the next level.

In reaching out to gyms, I’ve tried different approaches. The first time I went in to talk to the owner and head coach and they LAUGHED in my face. Seriously. Needless to say I walked right back out of there and never looked back. After that incident I decided I would email a coach at a different gym. That one didn’t even respond. A new gym went up nearby that was strictly gymnastics (not cheerleading for once) so I thought I would drop in. They asked me if I was stupid because all of their forms clearly read they only take those aged 7-17. So again, I tried to explain what I was doing and that I was hoping they would be willing to help. After more laughter from not only the owner but also a coach, I left there too. While these people do give me motivation to prove them wrong, it can also be discouraging. It almost feels as though you are back in school and dealing with bullies. I tried to ignore all of these bad experiences and keep training, but I still knew that I needed a serious coach to help me. So I figured I would take another leap of faith, this time with a somewhat well known coach. I wrote an email that just spilled everything I was trying to accomplish and I was honest and shared my dreams with this person. Unfortunately, they are only training elites but were at least nice enough to invite me to their gym and wished me the best of luck on chasing my dream. Finally, someone who was at least kind when letting me down! It was difficult to swallow that one because I was very hopeful, but I can’t help but feel like every thing happens for a reason. At least they listened to my story and didn’t just brush me off like the rest.

Even though many people have laughed at my ambitions and denied helping me reach my goals, I keep fighting. Every single day. Because at the end of the day this isn’t their dream to deny. I am the only person that can say, “I’m done” if I want to be. And I’m not ready to give up. If learning from YouTube videos is what I have to do then so be it. I get up every day and I get in that gym and do whatever it takes to improve and be better than the day before. So please, don’t ever give up your dreams or something you are passionate about because of what other people say. They only want to bring you down simply because you are above them. 🙂

Keep fighting and keep the dream alive. Thank you for always believing in me!

Until next time… Maegan xo

About Maegan

I'm 24 years old and started training gymnastics in October 2011 in order to chase my dreams. I wanted to write to allow people to follow me on this journey and realize that its never too late to follow your dreams! Please follow me and support me through this roller coaster ride as I train to work towards my goal to compete gymnastics at a high level!

Whats your opinion?

