A Not So Usual to a Dream: The Adventures of Training at 24

Hello there dreamers  First of all, I can’t even begin to describe the emotions I felt when I saw everyone’s support from the first post. It was absolutely overwhelming and more motivating than I can explain!  Thank you so much for not only being interested in my journey, but also for believing in me. You all have inspired me to push harder than before.

This time, I thought I would tell you a little bit about how my training has been going and what it is like to be back in the gym and training gymnastics for the first time at age 24.

The first day was the major emotional rollercoaster. I was so excited to start but had no idea what to expect. I was really excited, but oh how quickly I learned just how tough this would prove to be. I had my first breakdown on my beam, my hands were burnt up from bars, and the next few days were the worst soreness I have ever experienced. I started with two days per week working events as I could and now I am at four days and I train anywhere between 2.5-4 hours at a time. It is always brutal for me and there is never a set schedule for what events I work when because it all depends on what my body is saying to me. I try my best to listen when I’m hurting and to take it easy when necessary. I haven’t had any major setbacks so far thankfully. I had some hamstring issues that have finally healed up mostly, other than that I am holding up well! I spend a lot of time icing and stretching and I have also made sure to start seeing a massage therapist regularly. It has been an incredible help!

My rips have been pretty crazy. It is always funny to see the reaction I get from the people that I work with when I come in with a new one that is bigger than before. People don’t get it and they always ask “why are you doing this, is it worth it?” I usually cannot believe that they are asking me if it is worth it. Heck yes it is worth it!  Every single ounce of this it worth it! Every drip of sweat, every tear I’ve cried, every ounce of blood from my hands, every bruise, every muscle that aches and every single second I put in is worth it. Some days I feel like this is the most worthwhile thing I have ever done. It is so rewarding to know that you are doing everything in your power to try and make your dreams come true.

As far as skills go, I feel like I am mostly still at beginner level on most things, which is perfectly fine and normal for someone just starting. I have actually been jumping in one of the 2-hour gymnastics classes that the owner coaches at my gym. If I have learned anything, it is to put my ego aside! I jump right in there next to 8-10 year olds in order to get down to the basics. They think its funny how old I am but I am smaller than most of them! I have been working glide kips, back hip circles, cast squat on, sole circles, and cast handstands on bars. Vault has been front handsprings only. On beam I have been working switch leaps, all sorts of jumps, full turns, front tuck dismounts, round offs, back handsprings, back tucks and walkovers. I feel like beam is where I have the most things to work on but I am still working through my discomfort that I have there. I have been able to tumble, leap, and turn my entire life, just not on four inches. It is all an adjustment for me!

I know to most serious gymnasts this doesn’t sound like much, but to me I feel like I have come such a long way in just a few months. I am very proud of my progress and with each new skill that I get, the excitement is like a child on Christmas morning. I don’t take for granted anything that happens to me along this journey. Each day is another step closer for me and I will get there! It is a long road ahead but I am ready and willing to do whatever it takes. With the continued support and the dream in my heart, I will take this as far as I possibly can.

Until next time! XOXO Maegan

About Maegan

I'm 24 years old and started training gymnastics in October 2011 in order to chase my dreams. I wanted to write to allow people to follow me on this journey and realize that its never too late to follow your dreams! Please follow me and support me through this roller coaster ride as I train to work towards my goal to compete gymnastics at a high level!

8 thoughts on “A Not So Usual to a Dream: The Adventures of Training at 24

  1. I’m 15 years old, I’ve never done gymnastics but I love the sport so much. I’ve always said ‘Nah, I’m way too old to start now!’ But after reading your first blog I thought, ‘Heck, age is just a number!’ And got into a gym. I didn’t have any dance/cheerleading background so I’m learning the basics. I can now do 3 backhandsprings in a row (on the floor, of course) and I’m learning a kip! 🙂 thanks for the inspiration!

  2. I am so jealous, I always wanted to be a gymnast but my town only had tumbling. I’m 28 now and I keep telling my husband that if we win the lottery I am building a gym and we are getting a gymnastics program in this town! I would love to give it a try!

Whats your opinion?

